Social Science

Some Important Definitions

Some important definitions related to the Indian national movement:Tiranga, A symbol of Indian national movement

 1: Picketing:

The entryway inside a shop factory office etc. and protesting there is called picketing. During the Civil Disobedience Movement, women were picketing in front of liquor shops.

2: Forced labor:

Getting work done without any kind of remuneration is called forced labor. For example, during the colonial period, the British had forced the tribes into bens in reserve.

3: Indentured Labors:

During colonial rule, a large number of people were taken to Fiji, Guyana, West Indies, etc. to work in plantations, factories, etc. on an agreement or contract basis later this contract or agreement These laborers came to be called indentured, and later these laborers came to be called indentured labors, in English, they are called Indentured Labor.

4: Dockyard:

The part of the harbor where marine vessels are repaired. Presently, India has eight public sector dockyards and around 13 well-known and established private dockyards.

5: Untouchables:

The low caste people whose mere touch saw the upper class of society as impure were called untouchables, Mahatma Gandhi Ji had inspired people to struggle against this evil during the Civil Disobedience Movement.

6: Harijan:

Mahatma Gandhi declared that Swaraj cannot be established even for 100 years without abolishing untouchability or untouchability. He described the untouchables as Harijan, children of God.

7: Khalifa:

The spiritual master of Muslims was called Khalifa, after the First World War, Britain took away the post of Khalifa from the Sultan of Turkey, a symbol of the Khalifa of the Islamic Empire. In protest, Muslims in India launched a Khilafat movement against colonial rule.

8: Non-cooperation:

Mahatma Gandhi launched the non-cooperation movement in 1920 against the oppressive policies of the British ruling power during the independence movement. In this, Gandhiji appealed to the countrymen not to cooperate with the government.
leaders of indian national movement

9: Satyagraha:

The word Satyagraha implies an urge for truth. Gandhiji adopted Satyagraha as a weapon against British rule. It attempts to achieve its goal through non-violence. Mahatma Gandhi first used this weapon against the apartheid and caste discrimination policies of the then government in South Africa.

10: Civil Disobedience:

Civil disobedience means not obeying politely. Mahatma Gandhi launched the Civil Disobedience Movement during the freedom movement in 1930. Under this, he appealed to the people not to accept government laws politely. No violence is done under this.

11: Personal Satyagraha:Personal Satyagraha

Gandhi started the Individual Satyagraha movement in 1940, in which elected people used to give speeches against the anti-war policies of the government, violating government restrictions and got themselves arrested. Mahatma Gandhi had chosen Acharya Vinoba Bhave as the first satyagrahi to start personal satyagraha and Jawaharlal Nehru as the second. 

12: Guerrilla War:

In this type of war, by hiding the enemy’s side by deceit, it is damaged. Chhatrapati Shivaji was proficient in this type of martial arts during the Mughal period. Guerrilla war was also a common strategy of the various Celtic, Germanic and African tribes that the Romans faced throughout their history.

13: Simon Commission:

On November 8, 1927, the British Government constituted a 7-member Statutory Commission called the Simon Commission to study and suggest the working of the constitutional system in India under the leadership of Sir John Simon. is. There was not a single Indian member in this commission.

14: Martial law:

It is military law, unlike civil laws in which the army has the authority to deal harshly with someone who is engaged in an undesired situation. In other words, Martial law refers to a circumstance where the government imposes direct military control, in place of ordinary civil control, over a country or a portion of a country.

15 Racial government:

A government that discriminates against the citizens of its country on the basis of race or species is called a racist government. Mahatma Gandhi was the first Satyagraha movement against a similar racist government in South Africa.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker